Out Of The Woods…

am i out of the woods?
dealing
with
men and their woods?
everything they do to get the goods?
all the wannabe thugs and hoods?

am i out of the woods?
immune
to
heartbreak
unbearable heartache
and i realize all that’s at steak…

am i out of the woods?
when it comes to
doubting myself
building my self-worth above all else
recognizing my inner wealth

am i out of the woods?
safe
from
youthful naïveté
the “he say, she say”
the games adults play

am i out of the woods?
over
contemplating
life’s mystery
the universe’s beauty and complexity
what my future holds in store for me

am i out of the woods?
i’ll look to my elders
pick up their maps
take note of their tracks
make my own path too
and never look back

2 Responses to “Out Of The Woods…”

  1. I want out of these woods too!

  2. This is a wonderful poem. I really can identify with this. It’s almost like a on going circle.

Leave a Reply

